Random Thoughts

Weddings: Yay or Nay

(Image above by: 7 Themes)

So today I went to my cousin’s wedding. It was the long awaited for moment because she has gone through a lot of trouble over the years, and she’s finally got that happily-ever-after so to speak.

Now I usually find myself less than impressed with weddings. Some are far too extravagant (fairy castle theme, ice sculptures, $50 plates, etc), too casual (the bar down the street, solo cups, etc), and I never know many people. I’m not much of a dancer/partier during receptions and usually the actual ceremony makes me pity the wedding party because they have to stand for the whole thing.

Also, in my family, I’m in this awkward middle ground age-wise. My parents were married a long time before they had kids, so, I, the oldest sibling, am younger than most of my cousins, who all had a decade plus on me. I’m also far older than their kids. This leaves me answering the same questions from the older generation about school, monitoring the younger kids, and finding something to do when those things run dry.

To put things in a nutshell, I’m miserable more often than not when a wedding comes around.

But. My cousin’s wedding. I actually enjoyed it for the most part. The actual ceremony was relatively short and sweet. The bride’s brother-in-law (her sister’s husband) officiated, which is incredibly amusing because he’s not a priest, pastor, government official; he runs a machine shop for street rods! He got the certificate deal-ee-oh because his best friend wanted him to officiate his wedding.

Suffice it to say, he was fantastic and somewhere in the far-off future, I might convince him to do my wedding too.

The venue was perfect for the hundred or so guests in a lovely part of Minneapolis, Minnesota, a rustic modern style: clean lines, exposed brick, recessed lighting, and such. I – and many others – found the place incredibly classy and suitable.

The food was a tasteful, yet simple buffet style: salad, green beans, mashed potatoes, pasta, and chicken. The cake and cupcakes were great quality, too. None of that $3 packaged stuff from your local grocer here.

The music was fun and easy, a little bit of old (Elvis Presley’s Can’t Help Falling in Love) and some new (Kill the Lights’s Kick the Dust Up), so everyone could enjoy it.

Sure, I still found myself searching iFunny for a short time out of boredom, but that’s more my personality than anything wrong with the wedding.

All in all, I must say, that wedding was one of the best I’ve been to. Partly due to sentimentality and largely due to classy choices, a nice blend of formal and informal that made it comfortable and enjoyable.

I hope all goes well with my cousin and her family. May God Bless her for all her hard work. It was a beautiful way to kick-start the rest of her life.

1 thought on “Weddings: Yay or Nay”

Leave a Reply

